2018 Year in Review

2018 Year in Review

Lone Star Policy Institute Year in Review

Lone Star Policy Institute (“LSPI”) is looking forward to our second year in 2019. LSPI is an independent think tank that promotes freedom and prosperity for all Texans. We advance public policy solutions that encourage Texans’ enterprising spirit, expand personal and economic freedom, and improve the quality of life for the people of Texas and in cities throughout the country. Here’s a little of what we have done in our first year.

In March 2018, LSPI held a launch event in Dallas, Texas featuring Kevin D. Williamson of Nation Review Institute. On May 9, LSPI Director, Doug McCullough spoke at the SMU O’Neil Center’s “Texas Economic Forum” on how federal tax law changes and trade policy would affect the Texas economy.

LSPI writers have been published in the Houston Chronicle, Texas Tribune, Foundation for Economic Education, San Antonio Express News, and the Fort Worth Star Telegram, and appeared on Texas Standard (NPR) and McCuiston TV. You can access each of these articles here. LSPI has also published numerous policy and educational articles on https://lonestarpolicyinstitute.org.

We understand the importance of collaborating to advance personal liberty and economic freedom. To that end, LSPI joined our first policy coalitions: The Conservative Texas Budget Coalition and the Economic Freedom of North America Network.

LSPI Director, Doug McCullough launched the Urbane Cowboys Podcast, along with Josiah Neeley of R Street Institute. Already, the show has featured guests like Christine Sandefur, Kevin Williamson, Oren Cass, Reihan Salam, and Vance Ginn.

LSPI hosted the “Smart Cities and Liberty” panel in Dallas in November. Our panel of technology and policy experts includes Chelsea Collier of Digi.city, Trey Bowles of Dallas Innovation Alliance, and Michael Hendrix of Manhattan Institute.

As we enter 2019, we are pleased to add Scott Lincicome, Dean Stansel, and Michael Hendrix to our advisory board.  Our existing Advisory Board includes: Peter Klein, Erin Valdez, Grant Ferguson, Lisa Rich, Dr. Geetinder Goyal, and Steven Barrett.

As we look to 2019, we are excited to launch the new program #Thrive in partnership with Texas Young Professionals leadership program focused on continual learning and social capital. Our first event will be in Dallas on January 22, in collaboration with America’s Future Foundation.

On January 9th, Doug McCullough will join Leila Afas, Matt Shaheen and Texas Comptroller, Glenn Hegar for a panel on the USMCA (Nafta 2.0) at the Texas Public Policy Foundation’s 2019 Policy Orientation.

2018 was exciting, but we are excited about what the future holds for us in 2019!